Application is open through May 31 for 2025 Residencies at the Joan Mitchell Center!

Learn more >


Artist Relief initiative launches with $10 million fund for artists affected by COVID-19

To help artists affected by COVID-19 and affirm their essential role in society, Joan Mitchell Foundation has joined forces with fellow arts funders to form Artist Relief, a new national, multidisciplinary initiative offering rapid, unrestricted funding of $5,000 to individual artists in all disciplines, plus additional resources to help those in need. Learn more and apply at

Artist Relief is launching with $10 million, including $5 million in seed funding from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation to match $5 million in initial contributions from an array of foundations. We have increased and reallocated the Joan Mitchell Foundation's Emergency Grants budget to this fund and encourage artists in need to apply directly to Artist Relief.

Visit to apply for the Relief Grant, view the resource database, complete the COVID-19 impact survey, or make a tax-deductible donation to help grow the fund for Artist Relief.

More about Artist Relief
Artist Relief is a coalition of national arts grantmakers Academy of American Poets, Artadia, Creative Capital, Foundation for Contemporary Arts, MAP Fund, National YoungArts Foundation, and United States Artists. The fund will be operated through the next six months, as we monitor the impact of the pandemic. Artist Relief launches with a generous $5 million seed gift from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, to match an initial $5 million in funding generously provided by the 7G Foundation, Adolph and Esther Gottlieb Foundation, Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts, Arison Arts Foundation, Doris Duke Charitable Foundation, Emily Hall Tremaine Foundation, Ford Foundation, Helen Frankenthaler Foundation COVID-19 Relief Effort, Jerome Foundation, Joan Mitchell Foundation, Knight Foundation, Kraus Family Foundation, LeRoy Neiman and Janet Byrne Neiman Foundation, Mike Kelley Foundation for the Arts, Pritzker Pucker Family Foundation, Richard Salomon Family Foundation, Robert Rauschenberg Foundation, Sue Hostetler and Beau Wrigley Family Foundation, Teiger Foundation, Wallace Foundation, and Willem de Kooning Foundation.

Download the full press release (PDF)

See other Journal entries filed under:

News from the Foundation